Faculty of Natural Resources

Website : http://natres.psu.ac.th/

General Information:

Faculty of Natural Resources was established in October 1975 with the objectives of carrying out academic works in developing the body of knowledge in agriculture and in the management of natural resources of the country, especially in the management of renewable resources such as the natural resources in fishery, soil, water, forestry, and environments, through the following three principal processes.
        1. Leaning and Teaching: To produce graduates who are competent in the science of managing sustainable agriculture with minimal adverse impact on resources and environment.
        2. Research: To search for and develop the body of knowledge, systems, modern technology which may be applied to the development of agricultural production; management of resources regarding industrial, economic and social aspects; conservation of natural resources and environment; remedy of agricultural problems of communities.
        3. Academic Services: To publicize, disseminate, and apply knowledge and modern technology obtained from research to help solve problems of society at the rural, regional, national and international levels.

Faculty of Natural resources enrolled its first batch of students, 60 in all, in 1977, for the Bachelor of Science degree (Agriculture) in Plant Science, Animal Science, Agricultural Development programs; and for the Bachelor of Science (Agro-industry) program. In 1987, the Faculty started to offer postgraduate study programs for Master Degrees in Biotechnology, Food Technology, and Plant Science. In 2000, the Faculty offered its first Ph.D. program in Plant Science. Up to 2007, the Faculty has produced 3,848 bachelor degree holders, 608 master degree holders and 4 persons with the degrees of doctor of philosophy.

At the present, the Faculty of Natural Resources consists of 6 departments and 2 units.
        1. Department of Plant Science
       2. Department of Animal Science
        3. Department of Aquatic Science
       4. Department of Earth Science
        5. Department of Pest Management
        6. Department of Agricultural Development
        7. Research and Service Unit
        8. Faculty Secretary Office

Philosophy/ Dedication Statement:

Faculty of Natural Resources Prince of Songkla University has adopted one of HRH Prince Mahidol Aduldej, the King’s father motto “Let consideration of personal gain take second place for the overall benefit of mankind. Prestige and wealth are natural rewards for a just and sincere dedication to work” as its dedication statement.


To be a leading faculty in agricultural research and to produce well qualified graduates in agriculture and in the management of natural resources, as well as to be a place upon which the communities in the region rely in all matter of agriculture.


1. To build up a body of knowledge in agriculture and natural resource management that integrates modern technology with traditional rural wisdom for the benefits of learning and teaching, so that our graduates are able to participate in the development of the rural communities, country and region efficiently.
       2. To carry out research in topics that are important to Southern Thailand concerning with agricultural production system and natural resources management; and aiming for the increase in agricultural production qualitatively and lastingly with considerable saving on investment and resources.
       3. To continuously disseminate knowledge, provide academic services and support the solving of agriculture and natural resource management problems of the communities.


1. To increase education opportunities and equality for communities in Southern Thailand and to produce internationally recognized graduates in agriculture and natural resource management programs who are realized of the importance of the balanced and lasting usage of the resources, enthusiastic in seeking knowledge, morally sound, and sociable.
       2. To produce researches on agriculture and resource management that are diverse and up to international standard, with emphasis on important problems of the region concerning with production systems, the development and increase in efficiency of management.
       3. To build up a body of knowledge on agriculture and natural resources management that are efficient and suitable for applying to communities as well as to utilize rural community wisdom so that the Faculty may be relied upon by communities in helping them to solve agricultural problems.

Programs of Study:

The programs of study offer by the Faculty of Natural Resources are as follows:
Bachelor Degree Programs:

  • 1. Bachelor of Science (Agriculture): There are 5 programs offered.
    • Plant Science Program
    • Agriculture Development Program
    • Pest Management
    • Soil Science
    • Animal Science
  • Bachelor of Science (Aquatic Science)

Master Degree Programs: There are 7 full time programs and 1 part time program.
  • Plant Science
  • Animal Science
  • Agricultural Development ( Full Time and Part Time)
  • Entomology
  • Pathology
  • Aquatic Science
  • Soil Resources Management

Doctor of Philosophy Program: There are 3 programs.
  • Plant Science
  • Aquatic Science
  • Tropical Agricultural Resources Management

Each year the Faculty of Natural Resources admits about 400 students for Bachelor degree programs, through direct entrance examination of the University and the central examination of the Higher Education Commission. At the present there are 1,281 undergraduate students, 256 Master Degree students and 29 Doctor of Philosophy students.